Claire Soulié  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 01:41
Member (2008)
English to French
+ ...
Jan 3, 2016

Hello

I am currently a self-employed French translator in the UK, where it is very straightforward to work out the nitty gritty of tax and accounting.

I am planning to relocate to Greece, where it is difficult to even access information.

Does anyone know :

1/ whether it is possible to work freelance in Greece without having to open a company (something similar to the "self-employed" status in the UK or to the "autoentrepreneur" status in Fran
... See more
Hello

I am currently a self-employed French translator in the UK, where it is very straightforward to work out the nitty gritty of tax and accounting.

I am planning to relocate to Greece, where it is difficult to even access information.

Does anyone know :

1/ whether it is possible to work freelance in Greece without having to open a company (something similar to the "self-employed" status in the UK or to the "autoentrepreneur" status in France)?

2/ under which threshold it is not compulsory to pay VAT?

3/ what percentage of tax is charged to a freelancer's income?

4/ what is different from being a freelancer in the UK (i.e. will have to send paper invoices to clients? will I have to pay taxes in advance of the next financial year etc.?)

Any pointers welcome
Many thanks
Claire
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 00:41
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Accountant Jan 3, 2016

Even if you leave the UK you may still be liable for UK tax as well as Greek tax.

One option might be to remain "resident in the UK for tax purposes" - thus keeping your admin in the UK.

I suggest you consult your UK accountant about all the ins and outs of this - it may not be as simple as you think to just leave the UK and stop paying UK tax!

I have an Italian friend whose mother (now deceased) was American and the American tax authorities are chasing her
... See more