Bulgaria
Local time: 10:16
Member (2008)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Sep 20, 2014

1. Introduction
1.1. I own licenses for Déjà Vu, MemoQ and Trados, and therefore I am in the unique position to compare the three tools from the perspective of a real life user. My reviews of CAT tools on www.proz.com have been consistently voted as 'most helpful'. Of course, I am just a translator, not a programmer, but these tools are sold to translators, not programmers.
1.2. I will discuss here most
... See more
1. Introduction
1.1. I own licenses for Déjà Vu, MemoQ and Trados, and therefore I am in the unique position to compare the three tools from the perspective of a real life user. My reviews of CAT tools on www.proz.com have been consistently voted as 'most helpful'. Of course, I am just a translator, not a programmer, but these tools are sold to translators, not programmers.
1.2. I will discuss here mostly the deficiencies of Déjà Vu X3 for which I would like to apologize in advance: your software is currently my top choice, when it comes to projects with no client requirements (for a specific CAT tool), and when quick turnaround is needed, so I do like it. I hope that my comments will help you improve it.

2. Areas to Improve – an Overview
These include software-specific issues, which are more or less easy to fix if you choose to do so, and a more general area of Atril team's interaction with customers, which is both a more demanding task and more complicated to better.

2.1. Software-specific issues:
a. Comment marks are really difficult to see. This problem is self-evident – comment marks are inconspicuous and difficult to spot. It would be great if a bigger icon in a more conspicuous color can be introduced. It would also be great if text in the source and target segment can be highlighted, so that comments can be directly connected to parts of the text.