Any Nordic translators interested in collaborative business?
Thread poster: Isabelle Knudsen
Isabelle Knudsen
Isabelle Knudsen
United States
Local time: 20:09
English to Norwegian
+ ...
Sep 3, 2016

Hello,

My name is Isabelle Knudsen, and I am a freelance translator between Norwegian and English.

I have been thinking up a potential long-term business, and just wanted to see if this would have any potential interest.

I am thinking of starting a collaborative freelance website, i.e. a general website run by a group of freelance translators from the Nordic European countries (Norway, Denmark, and Sweden). This would not be a translation agency with perman
... See more
Hello,

My name is Isabelle Knudsen, and I am a freelance translator between Norwegian and English.

I have been thinking up a potential long-term business, and just wanted to see if this would have any potential interest.

I am thinking of starting a collaborative freelance website, i.e. a general website run by a group of freelance translators from the Nordic European countries (Norway, Denmark, and Sweden). This would not be a translation agency with permanent employees, but rather a website where clients can contact us and request a translation. Every freelance translator would have personal contact with their client and be responsible for any invoicing (payment goes directly to you, not a general "pot" in the collaboration where you only receive a certain percentage).

Ultimately, I am hoping this would have the potential of receiving clients so that we can translate on a regular basis through the website.

As mentioned, it would be more of a "personal" website than a translation agency, as each individual translator will have contact and be responsible for their own client - which can be individuals as well as translation agencies. As the website develops to represent several translators with different specialization, I hope to offer a wide variety of services.