New to interpreting (DPSI) or CCI
Thread poster: Noshaba
Noshaba
Noshaba
United Kingdom
Jun 19, 2016

Apologies if this is in the wrong place. Hello, I have lived in the UK for over 20 years and speak fluent English (I studied and worked as an accounts assistant) as well as having been brought up in Pakistan and going throught the education system there, allowing me to speak Urdu and Punjabi. My question is how would I go about entering the Interpreting profession? I have looked at the DPSI course and the Certificate of communty intercepting level 3, and I would like to ask if these are totally ... See more
Apologies if this is in the wrong place. Hello, I have lived in the UK for over 20 years and speak fluent English (I studied and worked as an accounts assistant) as well as having been brought up in Pakistan and going throught the education system there, allowing me to speak Urdu and Punjabi. My question is how would I go about entering the Interpreting profession? I have looked at the DPSI course and the Certificate of communty intercepting level 3, and I would like to ask if these are totally necessary? If so, is there any funding available? Thanks, Noshaba.Collapse

MsYvaine
MsYvaine  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:17
English to Hungarian
+ ...
In a nutshell: yes Jun 21, 2016

Hi Noshaba,

What I see of the first and foremost importance to understand is that if someone is bilingual it does not equal to be a language professional such as an interpreter or translator. Solid language skills&knowledge are necessary to start studies in interpreting.
The courses you mentioned should only be regarded as starting points for an interpreting career. They deliver the basics, but the job actually entails a lot more than these courses would ever be able to offer.
... See more
Hi Noshaba,