nmanfredi
nmanfredi
Uruguay
Local time: 05:56
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 6, 2015

Greetings,

My name is Nicolás and I'm a student of Public Translation in Uruguay. The reason why I decided to write this post is because I need a little help with a project. One professor of mine at the university has asked us to do a survey on the opinion of public translators regarding these questions:

1) Which are -if any- the requirements that a document must comply with so that we are allowed to grant, as translators, a Certificate of Concordance?

... See more
Greetings,

My name is Nicolás and I'm a student of Public Translation in Uruguay. The reason why I decided to write this post is because I need a little help with a project. One professor of mine at the university has asked us to do a survey on the opinion of public translators regarding these questions:

1) Which are -if any- the requirements that a document must comply with so that we are allowed to grant, as translators, a Certificate of Concordance?

2) If you receive a document with -allegedly- an original text and its translation to your mother tongue, but actually you can neither identify which one is the translation and which one is the original text, would you still grant the Certificate of Concordance?

3) Supposing that, in addition to the fact that we don't know which text is the original and which one is the translation, one of the texts has big errors or misconceptions, would you still grant the Certificate of Concordance?

If some of you would like to answer this little survey, I would really appreciate it, for I need to have the answers of as many people as I can.

Thank you all for your time. I'm looking forward to hear what you think.

Nicolás.
Collapse

Paweł Hamerski
Paweł Hamerski
Poland
Local time: 09:56
English to Polish
+ ...
Primo, I don't use such a certificate in my sworn translator's business in Oct 8, 2015