Mariusz Kuklinski
Mariusz Kuklinski  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:55
English to Polish
+ ...
Jan 7, 2016

Hello Forum

I do not have a legal background but I have a few decades of hard-earned experience, I am a member of a professional association and I have been doing Commercial Law translations into my native Polish for some of the leading, global law firms. More recently, I have done quite a lot of translations of English Family Law papers and it is there where I have come across a delicate issue.

I am staggered by the amount of factual errors both in submissions by the
... See more
Hello Forum

I do not have a legal background but I have a few decades of hard-earned experience, I am a member of a professional association and I have been doing Commercial Law translations into my native Polish for some of the leading, global law firms. More recently, I have done quite a lot of translations of English Family Law papers and it is there where I have come across a delicate issue.

I am staggered by the amount of factual errors both in submissions by the solicitors and in the courts' decisions: misspelt names, wrong birthplaces, a Murphy's law running amok. I receive these documents for translation weeks after the fact. What should I do when I notice an error which to me looks significant?

So far, when in doubt, I have been asking the client for clarifications - and some of them are more willing to respond constructively than other. I have also found myself in a situation where the client persisted in denying that there was an error, where two different birthplaces had been attributed in the same document to the same person. How should I reconcile my professional ethics with keeping the client sweet? And what should I do when I find a substantive error in a court's decision which has already become valid? My last line of defence is making a Sic! comment in a footnote, which is, of course, a CYA measure but it doesn't help the interested parties.