Anca Patrascu
Anca Patrascu
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:41
French to English
+ ...
May 13, 2017

Hello fellow translators,

I have been offered a project to translate a volume of poetry (88 poems of an average of 10 lines) from Romanian into English.

As I am fairly new to this field, would you be able to advise on what rates I should ask for?

All the best

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:41
German to English
Charge a multiple of your normal rate May 14, 2017

Assuming that poetry can be translated at all, it takes a high degree of reflection and a great deal of aesthetic sensibility to create a translation that is anything but doggerel. That is, the effort involved is several magnitudes greater than, say, translating user instructions for an electric toothbrush.

Othman Thieyabat

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 09:41
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Rates May 15, 2017

Hello Anca,

you can either charge your per word rate or agree with your client on a per line or per poem rate.

Translating poetry usually takes 2.5 - 3 times (or in some cases more) longer than translating regular text. You need to calculate how many poems you will be able to translate in 1 hour, allowing you some extra time, depending on whether your client wants you to keep the metrics and/or the rhyme. This should give you the per word, per line, per poem rates.
... See more
Hello Anca,

you can either charge your per word rate or agree with your client on a per line or per poem rate.

Translating poetry usually takes 2.5 - 3 times (or in some cases more) longer than translating regular text. You need to calculate how many poems you will be able to translate in 1 hour, allowing you some extra time, depending on whether your client wants you to keep the metrics and/or the rhyme. This should give you the per word, per line, per poem rates.

Additionally you should negotiate the copyright agreement for these poems.