Nath93MCR (X)
Nath93MCR (X)
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:08
French to English
+ ...
Apr 20, 2016

Hi everyone,

I'm a masters student from Manchester University studying translation and interpreting. I'm writing an essay on ethics and was wondering whether anyone had refused work due to ethical beliefs and how you approached it/declined the work?

Thank you,

Nathalie

Srini Venkataraman
Srini Venkataraman
United States
Local time: 00:08
Member (2012)
Tamil to English
+ ...
They are different Apr 20, 2016

Ethics is different and work is different.
Especially when you accept an interpreting assignment, you cannot excuse yourself after learning about the ethics issue." The show must go on".
In translation after seeing the material, you have an option to accept or not.

Bruno Depascale
Bruno Depascale  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 06:08
Member (2009)
English to Italian
+ ...
military documents Apr 20, 2016

I wouldn't translate documents about weapons or of military content.
It would be simply unacceptable. Until now I've never received such offers, but on some occasion I've seen a couple of job posts here on proz

[Edited at 2016-04-20 19:37 GMT]

philgoddard
philgoddard
United States
German to English
+ ...
Hello Apr 20, 2016

We've actually discussed this many times before: just look for the Search Proz.com box in the top righthand corner, or use Google and include "Proz" in the search term. Here's one thread:

http://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/259627-turning_down_project_for_moral_ethical_reasons.html

I've occasionally turned
... See more
We've actually discussed this many times before: just look for the Search Proz.com box in the top righthand corner, or use Google and include "Proz" in the search term. Here's one thread:

http://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/259627-turning_down_project_for_moral_ethical_reasons.html