CAT tools
Thread poster: Adam Aabel
Adam Aabel
Adam Aabel  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 19:42
Spanish to English
May 18, 2016

I am currently studying to become a professional translator and I was wondering what has been the most useful tool that anyone has used during their career and also what tools to avoid. Thank you.

Fiona Grace Peterson
Fiona Grace Peterson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 23:42
Italian to English
No-one can tell you what you are asking May 18, 2016

Hello, and welcome to Proz and to the wonderful world of translation!

Unfortunately, no-one can tell you which tools are the best, and which to avoid - it is very much a case of personal preference. Some may say that since you are just starting out (but also in general), a CAT tool is not a necessity, however that doesn't mean you can't start testing the waters and see which ones might be a good fit.

There are literally dozens of CAT tools, each with their own pros, con
... See more
Hello, and welcome to Proz and to the wonderful world of translation!

Unfortunately, no-one can tell you which tools are the best, and which to avoid - it is very much a case of personal preference. Some may say that since you are just starting out (but also in general), a CAT tool is not a necessity, however that doesn't mean you can't start testing the waters and see which ones might be a good fit.

There are literally dozens of CAT tools, each with their own pros, cons, and little quirks. Trados has been considered the "industry standard" by many for a while, but this does not mean that everyone uses it. Wordfast works in a similar fashion, but is less expensive; MemoQ is another tool that a lot of people are using now. However, there are many more!

Most tools allow you to download them on a trial basis, so you can try out a few and see which ones you like.

You might be interested in this page: http://www.proz.com/software-comparison-tool