Newbie to proofreading question - how to mark changes?
Thread poster: Tania Mariani
Tania Mariani
Tania Mariani  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:08
German to English
+ ...
Oct 14, 2016

I am brand new to this field of work and, as such, have volunteered to complete a proof-reading job for a non-profit. I guess I had no idea what I was getting into........

They have asked me to mark the original text through the "track changes" option on MS Word. I am finding this incredibly difficult as they are some huge problems with the translation. It is clear that it was translated by someone who is not a native speaker.

What is typical in this industry? Especia
... See more
I am brand new to this field of work and, as such, have volunteered to complete a proof-reading job for a non-profit. I guess I had no idea what I was getting into........

They have asked me to mark the original text through the "track changes" option on MS Word. I am finding this incredibly difficult as they are some huge problems with the translation. It is clear that it was translated by someone who is not a native speaker.

What is typical in this industry? Especially considering that the translation really needs to be edited.
Collapse

Lingua 5B
Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Local time: 03:08
Member (2009)
English to Croatian
+ ...
Typical... Oct 14, 2016

is probably what you described in your post. Cheap translator and cheap or free proofreader. How big is the translation?

Tania Mariani
United States
German to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
length of translation Oct 14, 2016

38 pages - about 18,000 words

Christian christian@nielsen-palacios.com
Christian [email protected]
United States
Local time: 22:08
English to Spanish
+ ...
Partial submission Oct 14, 2016

After you have done 4-5 pages, send them to the non-profit so they can see how bad it is. Then, ask for more time or money to do the rest.

[Edited at 2016-10-14 12:18 GMT]

Christine Andersen