How to control SWIFT with autohotkey/Plover?
Thread poster: sootymatt
sootymatt
sootymatt
Australia
May 9, 2016

Hi, I'm a professional television captioner and stenography student working in Sydney, Australia.

We use Swift at work and I would like to control the software with my steno machine, particularly the numpad keys which control the video and colouring of captions.

Unfortunately, Swift seems to take control of the numpad in a way which precludes my steno software (Plover) from controlling it - I make it hit numpad 5 and Swift doesn't respond at all, even though the key com
... See more
Hi, I'm a professional television captioner and stenography student working in Sydney, Australia.

We use Swift at work and I would like to control the software with my steno machine, particularly the numpad keys which control the video and colouring of captions.

Unfortunately, Swift seems to take control of the numpad in a way which precludes my steno software (Plover) from controlling it - I make it hit numpad 5 and Swift doesn't respond at all, even though the key command works fine when Swift is closed. As far as I know, Plover takes the input from my stenograph and translates it so that Windows just thinks I'm pressing keyboard keys really quickly.

Does anyone here have experience controlling Swift with something other than the keyboard or through alternate macro programs like autohotkey?

I am reaching out to Softel as well but I think there's a good chance the users might know more about something so obscure than whoever I find at Softel.
Collapse

Max Deryagin
Max Deryagin  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 01:59
Member (2013)
English to Russian
- May 10, 2016

sootymatt wrote: