Doubting about installing a proprietary software from agency which requires remote installation
Thread poster: Rakel R.
Rakel R.
Rakel R.
Local time: 17:11
Spanish to English
+ ...
May 14, 2016

Hi everyone,

Although I am not new in the translation business, I am pretty new in the subtitling business and I am having some doubts about working with a subtitling and captioning company which contacted me online. After getting their rates (quite low, by the way) and passing a proficiency test, they ask me to install their software to further process with the training. What happens is that the software needs to be installed remotely and they need to remote log into my PC to insta
... See more
Hi everyone,

Although I am not new in the translation business, I am pretty new in the subtitling business and I am having some doubts about working with a subtitling and captioning company which contacted me online. After getting their rates (quite low, by the way) and passing a proficiency test, they ask me to install their software to further process with the training. What happens is that the software needs to be installed remotely and they need to remote log into my PC to install the programs. Probably this is not so uncommon, but to me it looks a bit weird and I am not so happy about allowing someone to take control of my PC to install anything...and the installation is supposed to take up to two hours!
I have seen the company is included in the Blue Board here in Proz, but I am still quite reluctant to give that access. Can anyone give me any advice about this? Is this common when installing a company software to translate subtitles for them?

Thanks so much in advance!
Collapse

Max Deryagin
Max Deryagin  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 21:11
Member (2013)
English to Russian
- May 14, 2016

raquelr wrote:

Hi everyone,