Thread poster: Paola Grochi
Paola Grochi
Paola Grochi  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 17:43
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 20, 2009

Hi everybody! At the moment I'm having one of the lowest of lows regarding work. At the same time, I still work for two direct repeated clients but since I'm leaving my teaching job due to maternity leave and won't be back until March next year I'm really looking for ways to find more direct clients (I've never worked for an agency before!).

Can you share your tips to approach potential clients?

How did you find your best-paying clients?

What marketing meth
... See more
Hi everybody! At the moment I'm having one of the lowest of lows regarding work. At the same time, I still work for two direct repeated clients but since I'm leaving my teaching job due to maternity leave and won't be back until March next year I'm really looking for ways to find more direct clients (I've never worked for an agency before!).

Can you share your tips to approach potential clients?

How did you find your best-paying clients?

What marketing methods -- both short and long term -- would you recommend?

And, by the way, where are all those translators who claim to have to turn down work because they're overflown with jobs? Just wondering...

Thanks in advance for all the advice you can give me!
Collapse

John Rawlins
John Rawlins  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 22:43
Spanish to English
+ ...
excellent advice from Chris Durban Oct 20, 2009

Keep your chin up Paola!

Chris Durban gives some excellent advice during this interview (in English) shown by the German translators association on YouTube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1uVjn_u9YZ4

Eva Stoppa
Eva Stoppa  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
great input Oct 20, 2009

Thank you John for this link. The interview is really interesting!

Susana Valdez
Susana Valdez  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 21:43
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Thank's John Oct 20, 2009