Should I take this trial ?
Thread poster: Yoshi1
Yoshi1
Yoshi1  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:45
English to Japanese
Jan 27, 2011

Hi, I am a novice here and would like to get your opinion. There is the one agency who gave me trial translation. That is not for an actual project, but for expanding their resource database.

Their e-mail contains a telephone and fax number and also they have their website.

It seems it is the ligitimate bussiness; however, the word count for the trial is 560 words. I have read somewhere normaly the trial is around 200-250 word counts.

I may be too cautiou
... See more
Hi, I am a novice here and would like to get your opinion. There is the one agency who gave me trial translation. That is not for an actual project, but for expanding their resource database.

Their e-mail contains a telephone and fax number and also they have their website.

It seems it is the ligitimate bussiness; however, the word count for the trial is 560 words. I have read somewhere normaly the trial is around 200-250 word counts.

I may be too cautious, but I am just wondering.

Thank you for your advice.

[Edited at 2011-01-27 15:39 GMT]
Collapse

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)
Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 11:45
English to Thai
+ ...
Trial=education Jan 27, 2011

I never expect jobs out of trial translation. I just do trial only I have time and I enjoy a small tests to educate myself on new disciplines.

Soonthon Lupkitaro

Vitals
Vitals  Identity Verified
Lithuania
Local time: 07:45
English to Lithuanian
+ ...
Sometimes Jan 27, 2011

The test translation word count depends on your agreement with the client. Usually it is 150-200 words, sometimes 300. Can be more in some cases (f.e. repetitive words, etc.)

And if it is more, then I think you should negotiate with your client as this probably should be a paid test translation.

Miyuki Ueno
Miyuki Ueno  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 13:45
English to Japanese