How do you deal with regular work by 1 client as a freelance translator?
Thread poster: Marlon Aviz
Marlon Aviz
Marlon Aviz
Brazil
Local time: 17:24
English to Portuguese
Jan 17, 2017

I'm kinda new in the translation industry so I was wondering if I could get some help from more experienced translators on this.

A client wants to work with me by sending me regular work. This means I would get project after project to be translated. On this case, should I quote separately for each project (quote proportional to word count) or should I set a hourly rate (quote proportional to project size and complexity)? Should I also ask the client for the project details before a
... See more
I'm kinda new in the translation industry so I was wondering if I could get some help from more experienced translators on this.

A client wants to work with me by sending me regular work. This means I would get project after project to be translated. On this case, should I quote separately for each project (quote proportional to word count) or should I set a hourly rate (quote proportional to project size and complexity)? Should I also ask the client for the project details before accepting it (for each project) or even better: ask him if I can take a look at the project to analyze terminology, complexity, size etc?

I translate from English to Portuguese and the client requested a test translation for English to Portuguese and also Portuguese to English, should I do both or just the one I work with (EN to PT)?
Collapse

Carole Wolfe
Carole Wolfe  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:24
Member (2006)
Russian to English
+ ...
Regular work Jan 17, 2017

Hello, Marlon,

First about the test: I think you should only do the test from English to Portuguese. You probably feel most comfortable translating into your native language, and that's what most agencies/clients want. Translating from Portuguese into English would put you at an unfair advantage.