Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Do agencies generally expect freelancers to work weekends?
Thread poster: Wendy Cummings
Wendy Cummings
Wendy Cummings  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:18
Spanish to English
+ ...
Sep 20, 2005

I am just starting out on the tricky path of freelancing, and the learning curve to becoming a fully fledged, successful translator is steep...so here goes with another question, in the hope of being able to pick your brains once more!!

Regardless of whether you like to work weekends, whether you feel you need to for money/other reasons, my question is this:

An agency sends a text for a quote and deadline estimate. Are they *expecting* you to work weekends?

... See more
I am just starting out on the tricky path of freelancing, and the learning curve to becoming a fully fledged, successful translator is steep...so here goes with another question, in the hope of being able to pick your brains once more!!

Regardless of whether you like to work weekends, whether you feel you need to for money/other reasons, my question is this:

An agency sends a text for a quote and deadline estimate. Are they *expecting* you to work weekends?

If you say 'about 7 days' (and do not specify 'working days') do agencies tend to assume that you work weekends too? Or is it up to the translator to pencil in their weekends and try to schedule jobs accordingly so as not to impinge too much on sacred time off???

Many many thanks
Collapse

Stephen Franke
Stephen Franke
United States
Local time: 21:18
English to Arabic
+ ...
Normal Business Days vs. Weekends / Holiday / "Overnighter" Work Sep 20, 2005

Greetings.

Customary practice is to quote a rate for your professional services provided during "ordinary and customary business days" (i.e., M-F here in the US) and to stipulate a percentage of that rate to be added to billing to that M-F daily rate for services provided during:

o weekend days/holidays

and/or