Anne-Virginie Lerat  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 09:29
Member (2003)
English to French
+ ...
Aug 21, 2006

Hello all,

I have been working as a freelance translator for three years now. As I a freelancer, I work... a lot ! I am pregnant with my first child, due at the end of November. I plan on starting working part-time after several weeks of pregnancy leave. I was wondering if I could get some advice from fellow translators and moms. How do you manage your time ?

Anne-Virginie

Elizabeth Adams
Elizabeth Adams  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:29
Member (2002)
Russian to English
find a good nanny! Aug 21, 2006

When my son was 3 months old we hired a very good nanny who took him for walks in his stroller for up to 4 hours at a time so I could get work done.

Now that we're in the U.S. again, I've used teenage babysitters, but it's a different dynamic and I try not to rely on them too much. I also take my son to the playroom at the YMCA and sit in the lobby and work on my laptop.

I hate to say it, but cartoons can also be a lifesaver when you're short of time.

All
... See more
When my son was 3 months old we hired a very good nanny who took him for walks in his stroller for up to 4 hours at a time so I could get work done.

Now that we're in the U.S. again, I've used teenage babysitters, but it's a different dynamic and I try not to rely on them too much. I also take my son to the playroom at the YMCA and sit in the lobby and work on my laptop.

I hate to say it, but cartoons can also be a lifesaver when you're short of time.

All the best to you and your baby!
Collapse

Laura Gentili
Laura Gentili  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2003)
English to Italian
+ ...
Congratulations! Aug 21, 2006