Meeting a client- Advice
Thread poster: Megan McGregor
Megan McGregor
Megan McGregor
German to English
Jan 11, 2007

Hi everyone,

I've heard good things about these forums and am hoping to find some good advice on meeting with clients.

I have been a freelance translator for 2 years, however most communication with clients has been done via email/telephone. I have a client however who I am currently sub-contracting for, who has ivited me to a meeting with the end client (head honcho at a very large firm). So far so good, but there are a few things that are worrying me.

Whi
... See more
Hi everyone,

I've heard good things about these forums and am hoping to find some good advice on meeting with clients.

I have been a freelance translator for 2 years, however most communication with clients has been done via email/telephone. I have a client however who I am currently sub-contracting for, who has ivited me to a meeting with the end client (head honcho at a very large firm). So far so good, but there are a few things that are worrying me.

Whilst I have good references, a sound base of regular clients who are always satisfied with my work, I do not have any official qualifications. That has never been a problem up until now, but it's easier to let the quality of your work speak for itself when you are not facing someon face to face and having to explain why you are technically not qualified.

Secondly, I am 22 and still look quite young and do worry about not being taken seriously. Perhaps this is all just in my head though.

I was wondering if perhaps anyone had some tips to help the meeting go smoothly. Should I perhaps take a sample translation (already did a translation for the company which they were happy with), a cv, anything else?

Thank you for the help.
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 11:39
English to German
+ ...
Your quality has already spoken for yourself Jan 11, 2007

Hi Megan,