Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Off topic: Meeting new people: entrepreneur or freelancer?
Thread poster: Marion van Venrooij-Rooijmans
Marion van Venrooij-Rooijmans
Netherlands
Local time: 12:57
English to Dutch
Jul 17, 2007

Hi all,

A couple of weeks ago, I had a discussion with a friend of mine who is a freelance translator, just like me.

I told her that whenever I talk to someone I have only just met and this person asks me about my work, I tell him or her that I am a freelance translator, or that I work from home. However, my friend always tells people she is an entrepreneur. To me, that seems like you're in charge of 5/10/100 employees and that you have an office building somewhere. She
... See more
Hi all,

A couple of weeks ago, I had a discussion with a friend of mine who is a freelance translator, just like me.

I told her that whenever I talk to someone I have only just met and this person asks me about my work, I tell him or her that I am a freelance translator, or that I work from home. However, my friend always tells people she is an entrepreneur. To me, that seems like you're in charge of 5/10/100 employees and that you have an office building somewhere. She said to me I should be proud of what I'm doing, that it's quite an achievement to be working on your own and that, after all, I AM an entrepreneur.

Trust me, I am proud of what I'm doing, but I think that if I tell someone I am an entrepreneur, he or she will automatically think that I have a couple of people working for me. My friend does explain later on that she works from home and that she is all by herself, but I'm always afraid people will think I'm trying to impress them.

So, purely out of curiousity, what do you say when somebody asks you about your work? Are you a freelancer, or an entrepreneur?
Collapse

NancyLynn
NancyLynn
Canada
Local time: 07:57
Member (2002)
French to English
+ ...

Moving this topic to the Being Independent Forum Jul 17, 2007

Hi Marion,