Thread poster: Erika Cenefels (X)
Erika Cenefels (X)
Erika Cenefels (X)  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 05:29
German to French
+ ...
Jul 17, 2007

I am a freelancer (German & English into French) and have just taken a commercial name to use on my new website.

I am wondering whether to use "I" or "we" to advertise my services. I have a problem with using "we" as I am on my own, but in some way I feel like using "I" wouldn't be totally satisfying either. What do you think?

Maybe it also depends on the country. It seems like "we" is widely used by individuals in the US for instance, whether German freelancers tend to
... See more
I am a freelancer (German & English into French) and have just taken a commercial name to use on my new website.

I am wondering whether to use "I" or "we" to advertise my services. I have a problem with using "we" as I am on my own, but in some way I feel like using "I" wouldn't be totally satisfying either. What do you think?

Maybe it also depends on the country. It seems like "we" is widely used by individuals in the US for instance, whether German freelancers tend to use "ich" (ie "I").

An alternative would be to use the third person, singular, but it's too impersonal, which is why I am not going for it.

Thanks for sharing your views and experience!
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
I for yourself, we for your company Jul 17, 2007

Erika C wrote:

I think that if you market yourself as a person, you should use "I", but if you market yourself as a company, you should use "we", even if there's only one of you.

The main thing is not to create the impression that you're trying to fool the reader into thinking that you are a big company, when in fact it is clear that you're a one-man show.