Has the economy ever affected your business?
Thread poster: Sonja Allen
Sonja Allen
Sonja Allen  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:05
English to German
+ ...
Jan 2, 2008

I have been working as a freelancer only for 2 1/2 years and so far, the amount of work I have received has been going up steadily. But now with all the concerns about the economy slowing down (US sub prime crisis, high oil prices etc) I wondered if any major economic crisis/recession would seriously affect translation businesses too. I would therefore like to know from translators who have been in the business for many years if they have ever experienced any major fluctuations in their workload... See more
I have been working as a freelancer only for 2 1/2 years and so far, the amount of work I have received has been going up steadily. But now with all the concerns about the economy slowing down (US sub prime crisis, high oil prices etc) I wondered if any major economic crisis/recession would seriously affect translation businesses too. I would therefore like to know from translators who have been in the business for many years if they have ever experienced any major fluctuations in their workload. With that I do not mean the occassional slow week or month but any longer lasting slowdowns.Collapse

Nesrin
Nesrin  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English to Arabic
+ ...
Stopped dealing with US clients Jan 2, 2008

Maybe not a MAJOR effect, but due to the US economic slowdown you mention, I have stopped dealing with US agencies (two of them very regular clients), because it's no longer profitable for me to work for the old $ rate, and they were unwilling to pay as much as I expect to be paid by UK agencies.
It hasn't really slowed down my business, but I was disappointed to lose one long-term client in particular.

Maciej Andrzejczak
Maciej Andrzejczak  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 04:05
English to Polish
+ ...
Dealing with US$ paying clients Jan 2, 2008