Bengali grammar sentences
Thread poster: bengirl2 (X)
bengirl2 (X)
bengirl2 (X)
English to Korean
Jan 9, 2008

I made the sentences below to get a feel of how different English tenses are expressed in Bengali. Would someone please check what I've written for accuracy and please explain the ones I got wrong or didn't know. By the way, I'm a student minoring in Gujarati, Hindi, and Bengali.

1. I speak Spanish.
2. I used to play video games.
3. I ate a cookie 5 min. ago.
4. Last year he was ill.
5. When h
... See more
I made the sentences below to get a feel of how different English tenses are expressed in Bengali. Would someone please check what I've written for accuracy and please explain the ones I got wrong or didn't know. By the way, I'm a student minoring in Gujarati, Hindi, and Bengali.

1. I speak Spanish.
2. I used to play video games.
3. I ate a cookie 5 min. ago.
4. Last year he was ill.
5. When his parents built the house, he was ill.
6. At the beginning of this year he has been ill, now he is fine again.
7. He had broken a leg, therefore he couldn't come to school.
8. I’m reading a book now.
9. I was working while she was studying.
10. I was eating there (- let's say lunch) until I got to know that there were cockroaches in the kitchen. Then I left (immediately).

11. I had been lying there for 3 hrs. before I fell asleep.
12. You will have been eating for 10 min. when I finish.
13. He wants me to go home now.
14. I would buy more food but I’m full now.
15. You are baptized now. ‘passive’
16. You were baptized for 5 min. ‘passive’
17. The city was destroyed by the fire ‘passive’
18. I had been baptized 3 times by 2001.
19. I will have been baptized 6 times by 2002.
20. If he paid me more, I would stay. (2 possibilities for ‘if he paid me more’)*
21. We would have built the house, if we had had the money.*