How to deal with 2 different source files?
Thread poster: Daithi
Daithi
Daithi
Ireland
Jan 3, 2020

Source English. Client supplies 3 files.
1st doxt (word template),
2nd docs with source material,
3rd pdf also with source material

Occasionally the pdf and the doc are not entirely the same. One or the other could have an extra few sentences.

How would you deal with this issue?

I thought about opening the pdf in word and then comparing the documents? But it gets messy, as Words messes up the formatting of the PDF after importing.

VIP9N
VIP9N
Local time: 18:42
Russian to English
+ ...
Abbyy Comparator Jan 3, 2020

Daithi wrote:
...How would you deal with this issue?...

Hi, Daithi!

For the task that you described I would use Abbyy Comparator.

However, the idea of your client to mimic 100% the source document with the provided word-file using styles sounds kinda weird to me. As a translator, I have to translate, that is my task. Precise layout or applying translation to hundreds different further purposes is not the responsibility of a translator. Much less to modify further the translated document.

If your current job is a one-time task, you may contact me through my proz email by sending word and pdf files to be compared. I will do it for free, and you will see whether result is satisfying for you. If this client intends to send you such jobs in the future, then, you better buy a tool, which you will find the most suitable for this purpose.

Good luck

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 16:42
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Daithi Jan 3, 2020

Daithi wrote:
Client supplies 3 files.