Usa Sukdapisumpun
Usa Sukdapisumpun  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 17:07
Member (2020)
English to Thai
+ ...
Jul 19, 2020

I am new in Proz and would like to ask some advise.
I am a freelance translator living in the Netherlands. I have a question about VAT with customers from outside the EU. I have checked with my tax authorities, but that is not entirely clear. The website say that ....as a translator in the Netherlands and my client is outside EU, I have to ask the tax authority in the country where my customer live about how to file VAT.... How you all do it? How to contact them?, They do not all talk En
... See more
I am new in Proz and would like to ask some advise.
I am a freelance translator living in the Netherlands. I have a question about VAT with customers from outside the EU. I have checked with my tax authorities, but that is not entirely clear. The website say that ....as a translator in the Netherlands and my client is outside EU, I have to ask the tax authority in the country where my customer live about how to file VAT.... How you all do it? How to contact them?, They do not all talk English. It isn’t a customer’s task who should find out about VAT and provide me the information ?
Collapse

Joanna Posylek

RobinB
RobinB  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:07
German to English
Not at all relevant Jul 19, 2020

Hi Usa,

VAT is a non-issue for clients outside the EU ("third-country" clients in EU-speak).

You do not charge VAT on your invoice, and any VAT, GST, sales or similar tax due on the service in your client's home country is a matter for the client, not you. You don't have to contact any tax authorities in any third countries.

So invoicing clients outside the EU is actually about as simple as you can get!

Thomas T. Frost
Christopher Schröder
Sheila Wilson
Aline Amorim
Dan Lucas
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Angie Garbarino

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 16:07