Thread poster: Luke Hubbard (X)
Luke Hubbard (X)
Luke Hubbard (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:19
German to English
Sep 4, 2017

Dear all,

Since I studied German and Spanish and now I've nearly finished my first year of my MA in Translation Studies, I keep looking at the languages and comparing them. Something which may sound very basic but something I thought of, was the fact that in English there is no article to denote masculine or feminine unlike der/die and el/la.

However what I found interesting was that in English we say:

wallet (man)
purse (female)

Whereas
... See more
Dear all,

Since I studied German and Spanish and now I've nearly finished my first year of my MA in Translation Studies, I keep looking at the languages and comparing them. Something which may sound very basic but something I thought of, was the fact that in English there is no article to denote masculine or feminine unlike der/die and el/la.

wallet (man)
purse (female)

Whereas in German 'der Geldbeutel' and Spanish 'la cartera' there is no difference between them and used for both masc. and fem.

Does anyone else have any other examples and can someone maybe explain why this is the case?
Collapse

Sarah Lewis-Morgan
Sarah Lewis-Morgan  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 23:19
Member (2014)
German to English
+ ...
The items themselves are not masculine or feminine Sep 4, 2017

Your examples of wallet and purse refer to two distinct items. A wallet holds notes and maybe cards, while a purse holds coins as well as (often) having a wallet section. Women may carry a wallet and men may carry a purse (although the latter case is unusual), but usually men favour a wallet for notes, with loose change making a hole in their pocket and women carry a purse. The item itself does not have a gender. Here where I live in Germany, I carry a Portemonnaie, which is neuter. Regional dif... See more