Do I have to remove personal TM from project before delivery?
Thread poster: mirelei
mirelei
mirelei
Finland
Nov 8, 2019

So I feel like this might be a stupid question but I'm a translator starting out so bear with me. If I create a translation memory for my own use, store it on offline on my computer and attach it to client projects, do I have to remove it from the project before delivering the translation? It doesn't deliver my personal TM to the client if I forget to remove it, does it? Just wondering cause otherwise that seems like a big data security risk.

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:07
German to English
TM stays with you Nov 8, 2019

As far as I know ...
If you're translating a package, the client will usually supply you with a TM and term base (but you may add your own as well), your return package will only contain the translation and a delivery package information file. If you translate, for example, a Word file sent as a Word file, only the translation is returned. In either case, the information in your TM is secure.

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 21:07
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Mirelei Nov 8, 2019

mirelei wrote:
I'm a translator starting out.
If I create a translation memory for my own use, store it offline and [use it in] client projects, do I have to remove it from the project before delivering the translation?

I agree that you should not deliver your own translation memory to the client, regardless of CAT tool.

I'm not a MemoQ user myself, but in many other CAT tools the return package is just a zip file with a funny file extension. If this is also true for MemoQ, you can use any unzipping tool (e.g. 7-zip) to unzip it to see what's inside it. Of course, this wouldn't apply if you're delivering directly to a server instead of delivering a "return package" file.

mirelei
mirelei
Finland
TOPIC STARTER
Sorry, forgot to mention Nov 8, 2019