Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Being accused of using MT for delivering 5k+ words in less than 24 hours - is it too fast?
Thread poster: Frank Feng
Frank Feng
Frank Feng  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 20:37
Member (2016)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Sep 14, 2017

Hello colleagues,

Today I encountered this weird situation and would like to hear your advices.

I got a project from a translation agency in EU, with whom I've never worked before. The price was fine so I accepted it. It was translation of two Powerpoint files with some 5,200 words of business contents, from English to Chinese.

It took me some 7 hours to deliver and I got a reply from the client, almost immediately after I sent out the translation, saying "
... See more
Hello colleagues,

Today I encountered this weird situation and would like to hear your advices.

I got a project from a translation agency in EU, with whom I've never worked before. The price was fine so I accepted it. It was translation of two Powerpoint files with some 5,200 words of business contents, from English to Chinese.

It took me some 7 hours to deliver and I got a reply from the client, almost immediately after I sent out the translation, saying "It is impossible that the translation was completed that fast (5000+ words in 24 hours), have you used automated translation to do it? Please explain."

I replied that I was just this fast, and the client was still obviously unconvinced: "I was extremely surprised to receive this that fast, as I said, less than 24 hours to do 5000 words is a very high rate/day. Don't you think? Could you please explain?"

Actually this IS really my average working speed and I never got such challenge from client for delivering "too fast". So dear colleagues, I have two questions:

1. Is translating “5K+ words in less than 24 hours" really should be considered as "too fast to be true"?