EN>RU translation rates
Thread poster: Kristīne
Kristīne
Kristīne  Identity Verified
Latvia
English to Russian
+ ...
Aug 19, 2020

Hello, I'm currently applying for the position of a freelance translator to different video game localization agencies worldwide. I offer my services for 0.04 EUR per source word (which is not that low for the country I live in), but I was wondering if I would increase my rate to 0.06 EUR, would that be acceptable for agencies? I'm a newbie in game localization, but I'm afraid I won't be able to increase my rate if I apply for a smaller rate initially. Anyway, I'd like to clear out for myself wh... See more
Hello, I'm currently applying for the position of a freelance translator to different video game localization agencies worldwide. I offer my services for 0.04 EUR per source word (which is not that low for the country I live in), but I was wondering if I would increase my rate to 0.06 EUR, would that be acceptable for agencies? I'm a newbie in game localization, but I'm afraid I won't be able to increase my rate if I apply for a smaller rate initially. Anyway, I'd like to clear out for myself what is the rate range for EN>RU translation of video game text if working for an agency. What would be the maximum rate?

[Edited at 2020-08-19 17:19 GMT]
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:20
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Sounds low to me, but there's more than one market Aug 19, 2020

Viktorija Solovjova wrote:
I'm currently applying for the position of a freelance translator to different video game localization agencies worldwide. I offer my services for 0.04 EUR per source word (which is not that low for the country I live in), but I was wondering if I would increase my rate to 0.06 EUR