Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Freelancer in UK invoicing Spain - VAT registration!
Thread poster: Michael Boone
Michael Boone
Michael Boone  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 07:19
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
Oct 6, 2020

Hi, I am a Sp-En freelancer living in an paying taxes in the UK. One of my customers in Madrid is telling me that they will not pay my invoices without a VAT number. I have not had this problem before. They seem unwilling to back down on this or to resolve the situation any other way. I do not want to register for VAT here in the UK. Has anyone come across this problem before?

Comunican

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:19
Member (2008)
Italian to English
All the time Oct 6, 2020

Michael Boone wrote:

Hi, I am a Sp-En freelancer living in an paying taxes in the UK. One of my customers in Madrid is telling me that they will not pay my invoices without a VAT number. I have not had this problem before. They seem unwilling to back down on this or to resolve the situation any other way. I do not want to register for VAT here in the UK. Has anyone come across this problem before?

This comes up all the time, and it's always Spain. They can't force you to run your business their way. As a UK taxpayer you are answerable ONLY to the UK tax authorities and nobody else. I think it's all down to ill-informed Spanish accountants. Personally I've worked for various clients in Spain and this has never been a problem.

PS there are numerous threads on this subject.

[Edited at 2020-10-06 13:15 GMT]

Thomas Pfann
Stanislaw Czech, MCIL CL

Mervyn Henderson (X)
Mervyn Henderson (X)  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
Make one up Oct 6, 2020

If all they want's a number, give them the number YP-08361-RL/450, for example, and worry about it later.

The only other alternative is to get in touch with the people in charge of such matters over there, but good luck figuring out who they might be in Madrid nowadays.

Thomas Pfann