Márcia Francisco
Márcia Francisco
Portugal
Local time: 22:45
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Jan 22, 2021

Hello!

I am a recent translator and I am applying to new agencies as a freelancer. Obviously, they ask for a rate for proofreading/editing. I have read all the answers related to this question in the forum but I am still in doubt because there is this conception that proofreaders are more important and, therefore, more valuable. So they should be paid more, no? However, most of the answers referred to, for example, 40% of the translation value.
Although my languages are Englis
... See more
Hello!

I am a recent translator and I am applying to new agencies as a freelancer. Obviously, they ask for a rate for proofreading/editing. I have read all the answers related to this question in the forum but I am still in doubt because there is this conception that proofreaders are more important and, therefore, more valuable. So they should be paid more, no? However, most of the answers referred to, for example, 40% of the translation value.
Although my languages are English and German to Portuguese, I would like to know your thoughts on this!
Thank you!
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 23:45
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Márcia Jan 22, 2021

Márcia Filipa wrote:
I am still in doubt because there is this conception that proofreaders are more important and, therefore, more valuable. So they should be paid more, no?

Both the translator and proofreader quotes a rate that converts into an hourly payment. So if the translator quotes 10c per word and the proofreader quotes 4c per word, it doesn't mean that the proofreader's rate is lower, because the translator translates 200 words per hour while the proofreader proofreads 1000 words per hour.