Thread poster: Mark van de Velde
Mark van de Velde
Mark van de Velde
Poland
Local time: 06:09
English to Dutch
Dec 14, 2017

Hello,

I'm new to OmegaT and struggling with the fuzzy matches. In some sentences in my source document almost every word is tagged; in some cases even words have been split in two.

In other cases a single tag has been assigned to an entire paragraph. For the paragraph I am not getting any suggestions, of course, although I know that parts of sentences in that paragraph match earlier translations. (An agency provided me with a translation memory.)

I checked
... See more
Hello,

I'm new to OmegaT and struggling with the fuzzy matches. In some sentences in my source document almost every word is tagged; in some cases even words have been split in two.

In other cases a single tag has been assigned to an entire paragraph. For the paragraph I am not getting any suggestions, of course, although I know that parts of sentences in that paragraph match earlier translations. (An agency provided me with a translation memory.)

I checked the source and target language, and they're OK. What should I do to get meaningful fuzzy matches?

Thanks,
Mark
Collapse

Susan Welsh
Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:09
Russian to English
+ ...
get rid of the junk tags Dec 14, 2017

These garbage tags come from MS Word .docx format, as I understand it. Use Codezapper or TransTools to clean up the Word file, and then you will probably get matches.

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
I agree, try it Dec 14, 2017

Susan Welsh wrote:
Use Codezapper ... to clean up the Word file, and then you will probably get matches.

Use the CZL macro in CodeZapper -- it often works wonders. It costs EUR 20. TransTools appears to be free.

Mark van de Velde
Mark van de Velde
Poland
English to Dutch
TOPIC STARTER
rtf or txt? Dec 14, 2017