Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Have you ever considered starting your own translation agency?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Jul 15, 2013

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Have you ever considered starting your own translation agency?".

This poll was originally submitted by Kristian Vike Pedersen. View the poll results »

Mary Worby
Mary Worby  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:57
German to English
+ ...
I've considered it ... Jul 15, 2013

... and rejected the idea.

Running an agency is so wholly different from actual translation and requires completely different skills. I'm happy doing the actual translation work and letting someone else to the client management and administration.

Evans (X)
Evans (X)
Spanish to English
+ ...
A valuable experience Jul 15, 2013

I voted other because I went the other way. After a couple of years struggling to make myself known as a freelancer, I set up a translation agency in the form of a translators' cooperative. This was the early 80s and the translation world was very different to what it is now (no email, no internet, work mainly locally sourced). After thirteen years I moved away and became freelance again. The agency is still thriving some 18 years since I left it. And I am thriving too. But it was excellent expe... See more
I voted other because I went the other way. After a couple of years struggling to make myself known as a freelancer, I set up a translation agency in the form of a translators' cooperative. This was the early 80s and the translation world was very different to what it is now (no email, no internet, work mainly locally sourced). After thirteen years I moved away and became freelance again. The agency is still thriving some 18 years since I left it. And I am thriving too. But it was excellent experience for me in my early years as a translator, having to project manage other people's work and run the business.Collapse