Marion Betard
Marion Betard
France
Local time: 09:32
English to French
+ ...
Aug 11, 2020

Hello everyone,

My name is Marion and I am a student in Audiovisual Translation. I am working on my thesis about Post-Editing for subtitling. As you may know, Machine Translation is used a lot by agencies and I have noticed (as I am working as a Project Manager in a Translation agency) that post-editor is now another service offered by linguists (just like translation or proofreading). I think this is very interesting and I also wondered what is going to happen to the translators?
... See more
Hello everyone,

My name is Marion and I am a student in Audiovisual Translation. I am working on my thesis about Post-Editing for subtitling. As you may know, Machine Translation is used a lot by agencies and I have noticed (as I am working as a Project Manager in a Translation agency) that post-editor is now another service offered by linguists (just like translation or proofreading). I think this is very interesting and I also wondered what is going to happen to the translators?

As I was reading articles about Machine Translation for written documents and subtitling, I noticed feedback from the linguists was mostly positive: gain in productivity, more consistency, vocabulary was more accurate...

I would like to gather more feedback from post-editors who worked with subtitles translated by an engine if that is possible.

• I would like to know if you find it easier, faster, better, to work on pre-translated subtitles than making them from scratch?
• Could you tell me about your experience with machine-translated subtitles (line-breaks, segmentation, puns, and idiomatic sentences...)?
• If you faced negative experiences, what do you think should be improved?
• Would you, in the future, work as a post-editor only (i.e. never translate documents from scratch again). If not, why?