Laura Rios (X)
Laura Rios (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:57
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 29, 2020

Hi!

I have been translating for 2+ years for a company that never asked for certifications or even past experience translating. I became their lead translator for SP-EN and I fell in love with translating plus the flexibility it gives me to spend time with my growing family.

The company recently ended the contract and I was left with no job. I made the mistake to only work for one company as a freelance and now I am having a hard time finding more companies because the
... See more
Hi!

I have been translating for 2+ years for a company that never asked for certifications or even past experience translating. I became their lead translator for SP-EN and I fell in love with translating plus the flexibility it gives me to spend time with my growing family.

The company recently ended the contract and I was left with no job. I made the mistake to only work for one company as a freelance and now I am having a hard time finding more companies because they ask for education or certificates in this industry and I have none. I have a Bachelor's but it is not related to translation or any part of this field. My question is, what certification am I able to do online that I would be able to add to my resume and give me some credibility? Are there any other certificates besides ATA that you would recommend.

Thank you in advance.

Laura.
Collapse

Nawal Kramer
Nawal Kramer
United States
Spanish to English

Moderator of this forum
List of schools Jul 29, 2020

Hi Laura,

I recommend that you review the approved schools by the ATA at their website here:

https://www.atanet.org/certification/eligibility_approved.php

Many of these schools have post- graduate certifications, which take less than a year (some can be done online), and they are all reputable. Whether or not you choose to get ATA cer
... See more
Hi Laura,