S. Kathryn Jiménez Boyd  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 20:57
Member (2018)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apr 23, 2021

Hi everyone,
I'm doing a certified translation (I'm an ATA-certified translator) of the academic transcript for someone who studied Translation & Interpretation at a university in Spain. Apparently they are a fellow translator, albeit for a different language pair. They are asking me to translate "licenciatura" as "Master's Degree". I've always translated "licenciatura" as "Bachelor's Degree" (my U.S. Bachelor's degree was determined to be a "licenciatura" itself and I certainly wouldn't c
... See more
Hi everyone,
I'm doing a certified translation (I'm an ATA-certified translator) of the academic transcript for someone who studied Translation & Interpretation at a university in Spain. Apparently they are a fellow translator, albeit for a different language pair. They are asking me to translate "licenciatura" as "Master's Degree". I've always translated "licenciatura" as "Bachelor's Degree" (my U.S. Bachelor's degree was determined to be a "licenciatura" itself and I certainly wouldn't consider it to be at a Master's degree level).

I understand that it's 5 years for a licenciatura but I still don't feel it to be up to par to be called a Master's degree. I know this is important for my client because they are applying for PhD programs.

I make my direct clients pay in advance, so he already paid. If I disagree with what he's asking of me, how do I handle the payment?

How would you handle this situation?
Thanks in advance,
Kat
Collapse

Mervyn Henderson (X)
Mervyn Henderson (X)  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
Master Apr 24, 2021

Hi,