Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Anyone out there who doesn't use a CAT tool...
Thread poster: Annika Neudecker
Annika Neudecker
Annika Neudecker  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 10:22
English to German
Aug 18, 2006

... and is quite happy working without a tool?

I tried Trados for a bit, and it really cramped my style. So, I guess, I'm an old-fashioned translator

I was wondering if there are others "out there" who don't use TRADOS/SDLX etc... and if so, why not?

Looking forward to your input,

Annika

[Edited at 2006-08-18 14:46]

Andy Lemminger
Andy Lemminger  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 02:22
Member (2002)
English to German
You are not alone Aug 18, 2006

Don't feel lost and alone in the whole universe.

I bet there are many other colleagues like you out there so don't worry.

Hey, I bet there are even some translators who still refuse to touch a computer!

I just don't know any...

So long

Andy

www.interlations.com

Annika Neudecker
Germany
English to German
TOPIC STARTER
Good to know.... Aug 18, 2006

Hi Andy,

Thanks for your response. Good to know I'm not alone out there...

Well, I've got to say, I'm not THAT old-fashioned after all! I couldn't live without my computer or 24-hour DSL connection...

Do you, as an outsourcer, expect your freelancers to use Trados?

Thanks,

Annika

[Edited at 2006-08-18 14:26]

Teresa Bento
Teresa Bento  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 09:22
English to Portuguese
+ ...
I know TRADOS can be useful Aug 18, 2006

specially for technical translations where the vocabulary isn't very creative. However, in literary translations, it's not so useful and I can totally relate to what you said, Annika, about cramping your writing style. I am specialized in literary translations, therefore I only use TRADOS if the client specifically asks me to.

Margaret Schroeder
Margaret Schroeder  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 02:22
Spanish to English
+ ...
A contrary opinion Aug 18, 2006