Imene Tl
Imene Tl
Algeria
Local time: 23:36
English to Arabic
+ ...
Jan 4, 2022

Greetings everyone!

I am a Translation Studies PhD student currently conducting a research, and I would be very thankful if you could help me by answering some questions I have and opening up a discussion.

As professional interpreters or trainees, do you have any musical background? Did you at any point in your lives play a musical instrument or receive music education?

Some studies have shown that a number of professional interpreters have a musical talen
... See more
Greetings everyone!

I am a Translation Studies PhD student currently conducting a research, and I would be very thankful if you could help me by answering some questions I have and opening up a discussion.

As professional interpreters or trainees, do you have any musical background? Did you at any point in your lives play a musical instrument or receive music education?

Some studies have shown that a number of professional interpreters have a musical talent and can play an instrument, which in turn has enabled them to perform better in their interpreting careers.
I would love to hear your answers to the questions and insights on the matter.

Thank you so much in advance!
Best regards.
Collapse

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Conversely Jan 4, 2022

FWIW I am a trained musician but chose translation over interpreting...

That said, I do dictate my translations.

Erik Freitag

Imene Tl
Imene Tl
Algeria
Local time: 23:36
English to Arabic
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Jan 4, 2022

Thank you for your insight!

Christian Grosch
Christian Grosch  Identity Verified
South Africa
Local time: 00:36
Member (2021)
English to German
+ ...
It's all the same - only different Jan 5, 2022

Hi Imene,
I think there's a close relationship between language and music.