Can I merge separate source and target files?
Autor wątku: Susan Nicholls
Susan Nicholls
Susan Nicholls  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:57
francuski > angielski
+ ...
May 29, 2009

I'm a complete beginner to CAT tools, so this probably a stupid question (although not as bad as my last one, I've come a long way and now know how to turn Wordfast on!!!!)
If I have a source text in one MSWord file and a target text in another MSWord file, can I somehow merge the two? This would be very helpful. I'm not entirely sure which Wordfast I'm using, but am happy to download whichever one will let me do this.
Thank you in advance.

Attila Piróth
Attila Piróth  Identity Verified
Francja
Local time: 11:57
Członek ProZ.com
angielski > węgierski
+ ...
Alignment? May 29, 2009

Hi Susan,

What exactly do you mean by "merging"?
Alignment? Please take a look at the Wordfast manual, and search for "Alignment". You need to download Wordfast Classic + PlusTools. It is easy to learn how to align files, and it is a very useful feature of CAT tools. You can feed aligned files into the TM, and reuse the segment pairs directly in your next translation.

Kind regards,
Attila

Susan Nicholls
francuski > angielski
+ ...
NOWY TEMAT
I'll give it a try! May 29, 2009

This sounds good, I'll give it a try. Thank you very much.

Odette Grille (X)
Odette Grille (X)  Identity Verified
Kanada
Local time: 05:57
angielski > francuski
+ ...
Aligning May 29, 2009

Hi.
I just read the alignment procedures, but my docs are .ppt

Would anyone know where and if I can find a way to create a TM from .ppt docs or should I transform the ppt docs into wiord docs (how ?).

Thanks
O

Attila Piróth
Francja
Członek ProZ.com
angielski > węgierski
+ ...
Alignment of ppt files May 29, 2009

Hi Odette,