Wordfast for dummies
Autor wątku: Kim Metzger
Kim Metzger
Kim Metzger  Identity Verified
Meksyk
Local time: 03:23
niemiecki > angielski
Apr 22, 2006

Hello - I'm totally new to CAT tools but decided to see if I could figure out how to use one. I downloaded Wordfast 5 and am using MS Word 2002.

So far I am completely lost. I tried the training manual for beginners, but the sample exercises for English speakers require the user to translate into French, so the sample lessons are useless to me.

I've been studying the User Manual and getting nowhere.

Since the purpose of using a CAT tool is to make translat
... See more
Hello - I'm totally new to CAT tools but decided to see if I could figure out how to use one. I downloaded Wordfast 5 and am using MS Word 2002.

So far I am completely lost. I tried the training manual for beginners, but the sample exercises for English speakers require the user to translate into French, so the sample lessons are useless to me.

Since the purpose of using a CAT tool is to make translating new texts easier (using the translations that I already have), it seems to me that the first thing I need to do is to program Wordfast to recognize what I already have in MS Word.

Can someone tell me how to do that?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

Kim

[Edited at 2006-04-22 17:51]
Collapse

Sonja Tomaskovic (X)
Sonja Tomaskovic (X)  Identity Verified
Niemcy
Local time: 11:23
angielski > niemiecki
+ ...
Program? Apr 22, 2006

Kim Metzger wrote:

I am not quite sure why that should be a hurdle. After all, these texts are only used to visualise what is going on. Why don't you just take one of your own texts, one that you have done before, and just follow the steps described, disregarding the French examples given in the beginner's manual.