What are the standard proofreading rates for popular languages?
Autor wątku: Alisha Rice
Alisha Rice
Alisha Rice  Identity Verified
USA
Local time: 02:01
Członek ProZ.com
od Jun 2024

hiszpański > angielski
+ ...
Jul 7

If you are just starting out, what are the normal rates for proofreading for a popular language like Spanish and Portuguese into English? I am just starting out but I do have a Master's degree. Thanks for the feedback.

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Turcja
Local time: 12:01
Członek ProZ.com
od 2007

turecki > angielski
+ ...
Proofreading Rates Jul 7

I try to stay away from specifying my proofreading rates unless I really have to. The reason is that I believe proofreading is not like translation where you can easily give a rate. When you take a proofreading job, you do not know much about the quality of the original translation job that you are supposed to proofread in the first place.

There are some jobs that you only correct some grammar and/or spelling mistakes, and the job is done. On the other hand, I met some translatio
... See more
I try to stay away from specifying my proofreading rates unless I really have to. The reason is that I believe proofreading is not like translation where you can easily give a rate. When you take a proofreading job, you do not know much about the quality of the original translation job that you are supposed to proofread in the first place.

There are some jobs that you only correct some grammar and/or spelling mistakes, and the job is done. On the other hand, I met some translation jobs that you literally have to redo the translator's job from scratch. There is a lot of difference between the two. Therefore, the rates that you specify should be different for the two jobs I described above. In theory, at least.